Washington, D.C. -- The American Institute of Architects (AIA) has selected seven Associate AIA members to receive the 2018 Associates Award and eighteen recipients for the 2018 AIA Young Architects Award.

The AIA Associates Award is given to individual Associate AIA members to recognize outstanding leaders and creative thinkers for significant contributions to their communities and the architecture profession. Associate membership is open to individuals who meet one of the following criteria: professional degree in architecture; currently work under the supervision of an architect; currently enrolled in the Architectural Experience Program (AXP) and working toward licensure; or faculty member in a university program in architecture.

The 2018 Associates Award recipients include: Jake Banton (Mackey Mitchell Architects); Melissa R Daniel (WDG Architecture); Ryan Gann (Ross Barney Architects); Gail Kubik (Finegold Alexander Architects); Yiselle Santos Rivera (HKS Architects, Inc.); Jason Takeuchi (Ferraro Choi and Associates); and Timarie Trarbach (Populous).

Young Architects are defined as professionals who have been licensed 10 years or fewer regardless of their age. This award, now in its 25th year, honors individuals who have shown exceptional leadership and made significant contributions to the profession early in their careers.

The Young Architects Awards are administered and funded by the College of Fellows and honor the following individuals for the 2018 program: Michelle Acosta (SmithGroupJJR); Allison Albericci (City and County of San Francisco Planning Department); Jamie Crawley (HA Architecture); Matthew DeBoer (HDR, Inc.); Lawrence Fabbroni (Strada); Tony Garcia (Asquared Studios); Kelly Haigh (designLAB architects); Thomas Hurlbert (CO-OP Architecture); Erin Sterling Lewis (in situ studio); Nicole Martineau (Arrowstreet); Ryan McEnroe (Quinn Evans Architects); Stephen Parker (SmithGroupJJR); Pascale Sablan (S9 Architecture); Angela Wolf Scott (MacDonald & Mack Architects); Malini Srivastava (Design and Energy Laboratory); Satoshi Teshima (HGA Architects and Engineers); Anthony Viola (Adrian Smith + Gordon Gill Architecture); and Korey White (Stantec).

The recipients will be honored at the AIA Conference on Architecture 2018 in New York City.

For more information, visit www.aia.org.