Washington, D.C. -- The American Institute of Architects (AIA) Committee on the Environment (COTE) is announcing this year’s recipients for its highest honor, the COTE Top Ten Awards. Complete details for each project are available on AIA’s website.

COTE bestows the award annually on 10 design projects that have expertly integrated design excellence with cutting-edge performance in several key areas. In order to be eligible, project submissions are required to demonstrate alignment with COTE’s rigorous criteria for 10 measures that include social, economic, and ecological values. The five-member jury evaluates each project submission based on a cross-section of the 10 metrics balanced with the holistic approach to the design.

This year’s COTE Top Ten Awards recipients are: Amherst College Science Center, Amherst, Mass. (Payette); Asilong Christian High School, Asilong, West Pokot, Kenya (BNIM); Daniels Building at One Spadina Crescent, The University of Toronto, Toronto, Canada (NADAAA with Adamson Associates and ERA Architects); Interdisciplinary Science and Engineering Complex, Northeastern University, Boston (Payette); Lakeside Senior Apartments, Oakland, Calif.;(David Baker Architects); North Transfer Station, Seattle (Mahlum Architects); Oregon Zoo Education Center, Portland, Oregon (Opsis Architecture); St. Patrick's Cathedral, New York (Murphy Burnham & Buttrick Architects); and Tashjian Bee and Pollinator Discovery Center, University of Minnesota Landscape Arboretum (MSR Design).

Jurors also designated one project as a Top Ten Plus recipient for its exceptional post-occupancy performance data. This year's recipient is: Frick Environmental Center, Pittsburgh (Bohlin Cywinski Jackson). Award recipients will be honored in June at the AIA Conference on Architecture 2019 in Las Vegas.

For more information, visit www.aia.org.