The WSLA Alumnae Group, which acquired the Women in Sustainability Leadership Awards (WSLA) from gb&d magazine in August 2020, announced that entries have opened for the seventh annual WSLA Awards. The awards advance, honor and connect the most powerful women at the forefront of sustainability who are making a difference in the world by initiating lasting change. 

Applications can be made here on the WSLA Alumnae Group website from Feb. 24 to March 24. Winners will be announced May 3 in anticipation of the WSLA virtual awards ceremony May 19, 2021, 7 pm – 8:30 pm ET.

The requirements for entrants include:

  • Has seven years of sustainability management and leadership experience
  • Makes a significant contribution to the sustainability profession, creating a noteworthy, lasting, and positive impact to the planet
  • Values mentorship and guides other female leaders
  • Demonstrates bravery and courage in the workplace

Rochelle Routman, president of the WSLA Alumnae Group, said, “We urge all eligible women from any location and sector to submit an entry. A judging panel representing a cross-section of organizations will choose this year’s next generation of sustainability leaders. The evening recognition and awards event on May 19th will be virtual. However, you will not want to miss it, because we will recreate the same sense of excitement as the memorable in-person events held in previous years. The accomplishments of these most powerful women in sustainability will be celebrated and we will get to know each one of them personally.  The recognition of each new award winner strengthens our voice, collectively, enabling us to do our important work with greater resolve.” 

Lisa Colicchio, vice president of the WSLA Alumnae Group, commented, “It’s more than an award: We are building an impact MOVEMENT. The WSLA Alumnae Group is expanding the tent to seek out the most diverse, environmentally passionate women change-makers around the globe who are breaking through glass ceilings and can join this coalition of previously recognized powerful leaders.”

For more information, visit