The Carpet and Rug Institute (CRI) held its annual meeting on November 10, 2021. The yearly gathering included an update on the industry, the announcement of the board of directors roster for 2022, and recognized volunteers for service to the institute. 

“The past two years have presented significant challenges for numerous industries, but the carpet industry continues to endure and make strides as a whole,” said CRI President Joe Yarbrough. 

CRI Board Chairman and Shaw Industries’ Executive Chairman Vance Bell announced Jim Williams of Mohawk Industries as the 2021 recipient of the Joseph J. Smrekar Memorial Award. The award was established by Milliken & Company in 1998 to honor the late Dr. Joe Smrekar who volunteered on many CRI committees. CRI staff members choose the recipient of the annual award. 

Other honorees recognized for their service to CRI at the 2021 meeting included Vance Bell, Rick Hooper, and Stephen Morton. 

“The character and work ethic of our industry are embodied in this year’s honorees,” Yarbrough said. 

Yarbrough also gave a report on CRI and industry activities from the past year. He outlined the work done in government affairs, technical, and communication. 

“While the world exits the pandemic, our industry continues to grow and step into the future,” Yarbrough said. “Our industry and institute look forward to an exceptional 2022 and all that lies ahead for us.” 

2022 CRI Board of Directors

Richard French, Bentley Mills

Dan Frierson, The Dixie Group

Robert E. Shaw, Engineered Floors

Tom Pendley, Mannington

Jim McCallum, Milliken & Co.

Curt Hutchins, Mohawk Industries

Tim Baucom, Shaw Industries

Tim White, Tarkett

Franco Rossi, Aquafil USA

Marc Ammen, Universal Fibers

Chip Howalt, Textile Rubber & Chemical Company

For more information, visit