At the 21st International Certified Flooring Installers Association (CFI) International Convention, directors were elected by the membership to serve the association.

The following were elected: 

CFI Executive Board Members:

CFI executive director is Robert Varden of Rockwall, Texas

CEO is Jim Walker of Kansas City, Mo.

Serving CFI as president is Tony Buckhardt from Fort Wayne, Ind., master-II and certified in all flooring types, lead trainer for the CFI Certification Team, member of the CFI executive board and founding member of the George Buckhardt Memorial Fund established in memory of his father that assists installers with immediate needs.

Vice-president, Ben Boatwright, master installer from Nashville, Tenn.

Secretary is Tim Provence, master installer from Aguanga, Calif. and director of Armstrong technical services western division of the U.S.

Co-chairmen of the CFI Certification Team are Roy Davison of Chillicothe, Mo., and Bob Gillespie of Grain Valley,  Mo.

Chairman of the CFI marketing committee is RolandThompson of Kehne’s Carpet One in Maryland. He is also chairman of the chapter committee.

Immediate past president is Alan Ellis of Council Bluffs, Iowa and president of Alan’s Floors

Past president is Leon Harrison of Tucson, Ariz., president of Harrison and Harrison Flooring

Members of the Board expiring in 2015:

Dave Garden of Sterling Heights, Mich., owner of Installation Services

Tim Chavey of Sacramento, Calif., president of Flooring Specialists

Rod Von Busch from Louisville, Ky; vice-President of CDI

Members of the CFI Board expiring in 2016:

Ken Miles of Dalton; technical services director for Clayton Miller Carpet

Kelly Huddleston of La Junta, Colo., president of Kelly Installations 

Dick Schmidt of Columbiana, Ohio; technical services Tarkett/Johnsonite

Bryan Artioli of Nashville, Tenn; manager sales and technical services of renovations

Board of expiring in 2017

Ray Knapp of Rapid City, S.D.; president of Ray Knapp and Associates

Tom Cartmell of Indianapolis, sales director for Blakeley’s

For more information, visit