Eleven projects featuring innovative use of natural stone were honored at the 2016 Tucker Design Awards and Bybee Prize celebration at the Contemporary Arts Center in New Orleans. The recipient of the 2016 James Daniel Bybee Prize, Robert A.M. Stern, was also honored during the ceremony.

The biennial competition, which began in 1977, honors members of the design community who exhibit innovation and excellence in the use of natural stone in design. 

Jurors for the 2016 Tucker Design Awards were L. Azeo “Ace” Torre (Torre Design Consortium-Architecture and Landscape Architecture), F. Macnaughton “Mac” Ball (Waggonner & Ball Architects) and Jack W. Davis (Editor, publisher at Chicago Tribune [retired]).

The 2016 Tucker Design Award winners are: 

HBRA Architects
Deering Library West End Renovation
Northwestern University
Evanston, Ill.

Bohlin Cywinski Jackson
Stone Barn at a Coastal Farm
Rhode Island

Consortium Cardinal Hardy/   
Claude Cormier + Associés
Renewal of Dorchester Square
Montreal, Québec

Design Workshop
Woody Creek Garden
Pitkin County, Colo.

Design Workshop
DBX Ranch 

Charles Rose Architects
Admissions Center
Brandeis University
Waltham, Mass.

CetraRuddy Architecture
Lincoln Square Synagogue
New York, N.Y.

Pei Cobb Freed + Partners
7 Bryant Park
New York, N.Y.

Architects Luc Bouliane
Relmar Houses
Toronto, Ontario

Bohlin Cywinski Jackson
Halls Ridge Knoll Guest House
Carmel, Calif.

Bohlin Cywinski Jackson
Independence Pass Residence
Aspen, Colo.

Past winners have included Page Southerland Page; HBRA; Bohlin Cywinski Jackson; EDAW, Inc., Cesar Pelli; Nelson Byrd Woltz Landscape Architects; Robert A. M. Stern Associates, Pei Cobb Freed Partners and David M. Schwarz Architects, to name a few.

For more information, visit naturalstoneinstitute.org/2016tuckerawards